Where Can Canadians Travel Right Now?

Canadians like everyone else love to travel. Due to the Covid-19 situation, many countries have strict rules related to tourism.  Wondering where Canadians can travel right now? Read below.

Travel Situation Around the Globe

The entire travel situation around the globe is quite risky even if you are following all the SOPs. There are still some perks to travelling right now. One main perk is the discounted flight and hotel booking fee. Canadian travel agencies are also increasing their service to help tourists.


Canadians can travel right now


Canadian Government Policy

Yet, the government has advised to avoid any non-essential travel outside the country. The government has extended the ban on all non-residents from entering the country.

There is also a 2 week quarantine period for its own citizens returning from abroad.

Failing to abide by these rules and laws would result in a hefty fine of up to $750,000 with 6 months jail time. For those putting others at risk through their actions will pay fine up to $ 1 million with 3 years of jail time.

Places Where Canadians Can Travel Right Now

But if you want to travel, here is a list of all the places to which Canadians can travel right now:

Canada – Exploring the Home Country

British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Quebec are open for tourism. Some other parts of the country are also open to specific visitors.

Check the travel restrictions before planning to travel to the following locations:

  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Manitoba
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nunavut
  • Yukon

Traveling to the European Countries

On June 30th, European Union Council removed non-essential travel restrictions for 12 countries. However, they have again removed Canada from the list on Oct 29, 2020, which means Europe is currently off limits for the Canadian tourists.

United States of America

US and Canada have closed their border for all the non-essential travel. But Canadian who are not suffering from any COVID like symptoms can visit US.

They should not have a travel history of visiting the 26 European countries in the last 14 days. These countries come under the Schengen area.
China, Iran, Ireland, Brazil and the U.K are also included in the list.

South America and Caribbean Islands

12 countries in South America and Caribbean Islands are open for Canadian tourists. The travel requirements vary from one country to the other.

Places that are open

Aruba, Bahamas, Bermuda, Dominican Republic, Turks, Caicos and Saint Lucia have certain rules. They need Canadians to undergo medical screening or COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction test. You can go through the test before or upon arrival.

Mexico and Jamaica need travel authorization from the Canadian tourists.
Canadians looking to travel to Brazil need to have medical insurance of at least BRL 30,000. The insurance must be in English, Spanish or Portuguese for the duration of stay.


Panama is open to Canadian travelers yet they need to undergo a test. The test can be either a COVID-19 PCR or an antigen done 48 hours before the departure. They will also need to show the negative results upon arrival.


Cuba allows all tourists, who must have a reservation at the government’s approved hotel. List includes Cayo Largo, Cayo Santamaria, Cayo Coco, Cayo Cruz and Cao Guillermo.

Middle East

Middle Eastern countries also need a COVID-19 PCR test. This helps to prove no infection within the 96 hours before the departure.

PCR tests are also available at the Dubai International Airport for all travelers.

Pack your bags and plan a vacation to the above mentioned places with your family. If you need help about packing, read our travel packing tips here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

three × 3 =